Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan


lightning thiefsea of monsterstitan's curse

labyrinthlast olympian

I started this series Memorial Day weekend and finished it yesterday. It is a series of 5 books. The premise behind the series is that the Greek gods and goddesses are real, still exist, and have affairs with people which produce  children, called demi-gods. In the first book, we are introduced to the hero, Perseus Jackson. We also meet his friends, Annabeth, daughter of Athena, and Grover, a satyr. They go on a quest together across the country, battling monsters and meeting gods along the way.

The series continues with Percy taking on different adventures while a war starts between the gods and titans. The demi-gods play a major role in this war, choosing sides and in fighting battles. The series culminates in the final book, where the demi-gods must guard Mount Olympus and Percy makes a decision that can save or detroy the gods.

This series is about making choices and how those choices can affect us and those we love. Like many fantasy books, it is a basically battle between good and evil. There is a slight twist on the variation though, with debate in the hero’s mind over which side is good. It is written for pre-teens and teens, so it’s pretty easy to get through fast. Although I spread it out over a few months, each book was read in a day. Overall, it was enjoyable and I would recommend this series to anyone who enjoys the fantasy genre.

4/5 stars – posted by Elizabeth


No Responses Yet to “Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: